Close this search box.

New Dates Confirmed for the 12th FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup

The 12th edition of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, one of the most exciting and thrilling tournaments in the world of football, originally set to take place in November, has been rescheduled to 15-25 February 2024.

The tournament will be held in the captivating city of Dubai, United Arab Emirates. This decision to reschedule was announced during the recent FIFA Council meeting, where various hosts for upcoming FIFA tournaments and events were confirmed.

Teams Qualified and Remaining Qualifiers:
As the anticipation builds for the Beach Soccer World Cup, several teams have already secured their places in the tournament. Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Egypt, IR Iran, Japan, Mexico, Oman, Senegal, United Arab Emirates, and the USA are among the nations that have successfully qualified. Additionally, four European teams and an Oceanian representative will join them, ensuring a diverse and competitive field of participants.

Format and Competition Structure:
16 qualified teams will be divided into four groups of four each. Each team will compete in a round-robin format, with matches played on the stunning beach shores of Dubai. Teams will earn three points for a victory in regular time, two points for a win in extra time, and one point for a win achieved through penalties. The top two finishers from each group will progress to the knockout phase, which includes quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off, and the highly anticipated final.

Golden Ball Winners and Past Champions:
Throughout the history of the Beach Soccer World Cup, remarkable talents have emerged and left their mark on the tournament. The coveted Golden Ball award, given to the most outstanding player, has been awarded to exceptional individuals in recent editions. Mohammad Ahmadzadeh of IR Iran claimed the award in 2017, followed by Ozu Moreira from Japan in 2019, and Noel Ott representing Switzerland in 2021. As the 12th edition approaches, football enthusiasts around the globe eagerly await the announcement of the next recipient of this prestigious accolade.

Looking back at past editions, the Beach Soccer World Cup has seen a range of dominant nations. France emerged as the champions in 2005, followed by Brazil’s incredible run of success from 2006 to 2009, and 2017. Russia clinched the title in 2011 and 2013, while Portugal triumphed in 2015 and 2019. In the most recent edition held in 2021, RFU (Russia) emerged as the champion.

The rescheduling of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup to 15-25 February 2024 in Dubai has set the stage for a thrilling and highly anticipated event. With a fantastic lineup of qualified teams from various continents, the tournament promises to deliver exhilarating matches and unforgettable moments of skill, athleticism, and passion. Football enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the draw, which will determine the groups and fixtures.

As the Beach Soccer World Cup continues its rich tradition, fans can expect an extraordinary display of beach football prowess and an unforgettable celebration of the beautiful game in the mesmerizing setting of Dubai, United Arab Emirates, which FIFA confirmed as host in December 2022, following bids submission alongside Bahrain, Colombia, Seychelles and Thailand.

Overall, this edition would be the 22nd edition of a world cup in beach soccer since the establishment of the Beach Soccer World Championships which ran from 1995 to 2004 but was not governed by FIFA. This will be the seventh tournament to take place biennially; the World Cup took place annually until 2009, which was held in Dubai.

Source: BSWW, FIFA


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.


Recent News

Editor's Pick